PDA is my Biggest Pet Peeve, Please Stop

(Just for context, do realize I am sitting in a public place seeing to couples making out so it may get a little heated)

There is literally nothing I hate more about relationships than seeing couples being romantic in public. I don’t know why. It’s just a thing that I hate. And I know everyone has their own opinion on what is ok for public and they usually stay around no more than a quick kiss or hug. However, for me, I refuse to participate in any form of PDA. Holding hands, hugging, kissing, none of it, even calling people pet names. And seeing PDA makes me cringe and anger rushes through me.

This might all have stemmed from my two years of being single. I was single between the ages of 16 to 18 which is when most teens are out dating and messing around with a series of others. Here I was, the only single one, seeing all of my friends going through their counterparts at light speed and making out at the lunch table and hugging before splitting to go to class. It just made me jealous and want to disown all of them. I remember that for Valentine’s Day in high school, I would get together a whole bunch of my single friends and go “Bowling for Couples.” Essentially what that involved was finding couples who were making out during passing period and “accidentally run into them.”

Now that I’m in a relationship once again, the male party thinks it’s cute and romantic and sweet of him to try and hold my hand or try and kiss me in front of my friends at dinner. I don’t let him. The only PDA I’ve participated in with him is a kiss or a hug goodbye (with a long distance relationship you never know when you’re going to see your other again).

I think this is because I know what it feels like to be on the other end. Being the single one, watching your friend getting be romantically involved with someone and the waves of jealousy that run through your veins because you think you deserve somebody as well and you go lay in your bed and wonder why you don’t have somebody to love.

I’m not telling anybody to stop making out with their other in public because I don’t know what all is going on in said relationship. But for me it is so weird to think about claiming someone as my own in public. Maybe this just all boils down to the fact I have some commitment issues

Leave a Reply

